Search results

Start typing

This exhibition is in the past. View our current exhibitions.

The Inheritance of Charles V, 1500-1555

In the 16th century the ‘Low Countries’ comprised the modern-day Netherlands, Belgium and a swathe of north-eastern France. It was formed from a confederation of seventeen provinces which became a distinct entity during the reign of the Emperor Charles V, (1515-1555) who also ruled the Holy Roman Empire, Spain and much of Italy.

The income from your ticket contributes directly to The Royal Collection Trust, a registered charity. The aims of The Royal Collection Trust are the care and conservation of the Royal Collection, and the promotion of access and enjoyment through exhibitions, publications, loans and educational activities.