Mobile menu
Special visit

Royal Reminiscence: Dementia-friendly mornings

Tapestry of gathering of people

Map & directions

Palace of Holyroodhouse, Canongate, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH8 8DX
By car

There is a public car park adjacent to the Palace at Broad Pavement. Please visit the Historic Environment Scotland website for more details.

Accessible parking spaces are located on Horse Wynd, just outside the Palace, on a first-come first-serve basis.

By train

Edinburgh Waverley. The Palace is a 15 minute walk from the station.  Visit National Rail Enquiries for times and fares.

By tram

The nearest tram stop is York Place. The Palace is a 20 minute walk from the station. Visit Edinburgh Trams for times and fares.

By coach / bus

Bus number 35 stops near the Palace.  Open-top tour buses stop nearby.

Limited free coach parking is available adjacent to the Palace. Alternative pay-and-display coach parking is available on nearby Regent Road.

By bike

A free-to-use public bicycle rack is located opposite the Scottish Parliament. Cycle hire stations are available nearby on both Holyrood Road and Abbeyhill, within a 5 minute walk of the Palace and The Queen’s Gallery. Visit Edinburgh Cycle Hire for details.

  • Palace of Holyroodhouse
    This event takes place in Abbey Strand Centre.
  • Next event: Thursday, 2 Mar 2023
    8 upcoming events
    Thursday, 2 Mar 2023; Thursday, 6 Apr 2023; Thursday, 4 May 2023; Thursday, 1 Jun 2023; Thursday, 7 Sep 2023; Thursday, 5 Oct 2023; Thursday, 2 Nov 2023; Thursday, 7 Dec 2023
  • 10:30 - 12:00
  • Free
  • Booking essential
  • Access event
BOOK NOW 
The historic Abbey Strand buildings at the Palace of Holyroodhouse

The historic Abbey Strand buildings at the Palace of Holyroodhouse ©

Every month, we welcome people living with dementia and their friends/support givers/relatives to the historic Abbey Strand Learning Centre for a fun morning with refreshments, an interactive short talk, and craft activity.

There is a different theme each month and sessions are run by our Community and Access Programme Coordinator, and Dementia Friend, Fiona Johnston.

Join us for a chance to relax, enjoy time together and learn something new about Scottish Royal history!   

  • Thursday 2 February - A Prince at the Palace: Bonnie Prince Charlie
  • Thursday 2 March -  Introduction to the Royal Collection
  • Thursday 6 April -  History of Holyrood Abbey and the Physic Garden
  • Thursday 4 May - Romantic Scotland: Queen Victoria
  • Thursday 1 June - Royal Coronations
  • Thursday 7 September - A King’s Visit: George IV’s State Visit 1822
  • Thursday 5 October - Royal Collection Tapestry Tales
  • Thursday 2 November - St Andrew’s Day Celebration
  • Thursday 7 December - Royal Christmas Traditions

You may be interested in...