Mobile menu
Our sites are temporarily closed. More info. Join digital events or shop online.
Exhibition

Eastern Encounters

Four Centuries of Paintings and Manuscripts from the Indian Subcontinent

Illustration of an Indian woman holding a flower

The Queen's Gallery, Palace of Holyroodhouse

  • Every Monday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday (Thursday, 23 Jul 2020 - Monday, 4 Jan 2021)
    Excl dates: Thursday, 7 Jan 2021, Friday, 8 Jan 2021, Saturday, 9 Jan 2021, Sunday, 10 Jan 2021, Monday, 11 Jan 2021, Thursday, 14 Jan 2021, Friday, 15 Jan 2021, Saturday, 16 Jan 2021, Sunday, 17 Jan 2021, Monday, 18 Jan 2021, Thursday, 21 Jan 2021, Friday, 22 Jan 2021, Saturday, 23 Jan 2021, Sunday, 24 Jan 2021, Monday, 25 Jan 2021, Thursday, 28 Jan 2021, Friday, 29 Jan 2021, Saturday, 30 Jan 2021, Sunday, 31 Jan 2021
BOOK NOW 

The Royal Collection contains some of the finest South Asian paintings and manuscripts in the world. Tracing more than 400 years of literary and artistic output, the exhibition offers new insights into the shared history of the British Monarchy and the Indian Subcontinent through exquisite illuminated manuscripts, dazzling depictions of the Mughal court, royal portraits, Hindu epics and modern works.

All events at the Palace of Holyroodhouse will be managed in line with COVID-secure procedures. Please see our Welcome Back page for more information.

Interior of the Queens Gallery, Holyroodhouse, with items from the Eastern Encounters in cases and on the walls

Experience the exhibiton with this virtual tour

Explore here

Events listing

Map & directions

The Queen's Gallery, Palace of Holyroodhouse, Canongate, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH8 8DX
By car

There is a public car park adjacent to the Palace at Broad Pavement. Please visit the Historic Environment Scotland website for more details.

Accessible parking spaces are located on Horse Wynd, just outside the Palace, on a first-come first-serve basis.

By train

Edinburgh Waverley. The Queen's Gallery is a 15 minute walk from the station.

By tram

The nearest tram stop is York Place. The Queen’s Gallery is a 20 minute walk from the station. Visit Edinburgh Trams for times and fares.

By coach / bus

Bus numbers 6 and 35 stop near the Gallery.  Open-top tour buses stop nearby.

Limited free coach parking is available adjacent to the Palace. Alternative pay-and-display coach parking is available on nearby Regent Road.